New things

18 May

Since my last post, my many things have changed.

I’m now officially back to school, studying to become a Respiratory Therapist and will be graduating in January 2013.  I have done my first of 4 clinical rotations and I have learned that interacting with patients is something that brings a smile to my face.  I have learned that a 12-hour day is not very conducive to making delicious home-cooked meals frequently.  I have also learned that weekly tests and quizzes are also an obstacle to be dealt with in the quest to become an apron-wearing domestic force to be reckoned with.

Despite said obstacles, I’ve managed to make quite a few delicious dishes.  Most of which I photographed with the intent of posting on this little blog.  Obviously, that didn’t work out.  Hopefully I get a chance to post some of it here.

And then there’s the big change.  My husband was hospitalized a few weeks ago with shortness of breath.  He had several clots in his lungs (or as my textbook calls it-pulmonary embolism or PE).  It turns out that he has a genetic disorder that makes him predisposed to blood clots and is now on Coumadin, a blood-thinning medication.  In addition to his predisposition to clotting, he was also diagnosed as a Type 2 diabetic.  He now monitors his blood sugar levels several times a day.  Oh, did I happen to mention that he’s only 33?

 

Leave a Reply

